Scroll to content
School Logo

Cookham Rise Primary School

"We want all our children to SHINE"

Literacy Tree

Literacy Tree logo


Our English Curriculum

In Years 2- 6 at Cookham Rise, we teach English by following the Literacy Tree. Literacy Tree is a
complete, thematic approach to the teaching of primary English that places children’s literature at its core.

How does it work?

Literacy Tree is an award-winning platform which has designed a curriculum which immerses children in a literary world, therefore creating strong levels of engagement to provide meaningful and authentic contexts for primary English.

Children become critical readers and acquire an authorial style as they encounter a wide-range of significant authors and a variety of diverse fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

As a whole-school approach, children explore at least 100 literary texts and experience over 75 unique significant authors as they move through the school. It provides complete coverage of all National Curriculum expectations for writing composition, reading comprehension, grammar, punctuation, and vocabulary, as well as coverage of spelling. All plans lead to purposeful application within a wide variety of written outcomes.

At our school, the Literacy Tree texts are mapped out to ensure progression and National Curriculum coverage across all year groups. A sample curriculum map can be found via the link below.

For more information about Literacy Tree, please go to